top of page
  • Writer's pictureNyla Coils

What are the documents saying? - A lesson in loan signing.

Updated: Dec 11, 2021

As learned by Renea Dentman


On Wednesday morning, I happened to be on Clubhouse in Renea Dentman's Dropping Gem Room.

I was able to pose the question (as a new notary), Why is there only 1 patriot act for a husband and wife signing at a refi?

There was only 1 Patriot Act for a Refinance Document with a married couple. Renea asked me to look at the Loan application.

She asked, Who was on the loan?

It was only the husband.

She said I needed to look at the Right to Cancel. There was none.

However, in the event that it was, I was to look to see if there was a Right To Cancel for both parties. In my scenario, this was the couple's second home/investment property.

Renea. also advised me to look for the 4506-C. After reviewing that document, only the husband was listed.


3 Documents to REVIEW:

  1. Loan Application

  2. Right To Cancel

  3. 4506-C

LEAN IN:

On the 4506- always get the signer to confirm all information is accurate

  • The telephone number needs to be filled in

  • If there is no spouse on 2A. Do not allow spouse to sign at the bottom.


Takeaways:

I really did love Renea's teaching style. Had she just replied, the 2nd patriot isn't necessary. I would have appreciated the answer but the way she gave me the answer and made me dig for it...

I will remember this lesson for life. Thank you, Renea!


Was this helpful?



















18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page